Visa Information

Visa information for foreign citizens

New visa policy entered in force in Georgia in September 1, 2014. Georgia has determined the list of countries citizens (stateless persons) of which will be authorized to enter Georgia without visa for the short-term visits. Please see other conditions for Georgian visa exemption at:

A foreigner with short-term visa may stay in Georgia for 90 days in any 180-day period. A long-term visa is issued for duration of 90 days and is the precondition of obtaining relevant residence permit. According to the new regulations, visa application shall be filled out by a foreign applicant or by his/her legal representative, while submitting e-application at:

Decision for Georgian visa refusal can be appealed to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia,  by  concerned person   since introducing of  the notification in 1 (one) month period.

Exemptions from Georgian visa obligations also applies to:

Compatriots residing abroad, who are citizens of the country whose citizens need a visa for entering Georgia, are authorized to cross the state border of Georgia without a visa and stay in Georgia for no more than 30 days;

Foreign nationals who are holders of the UNO’s or its specialized agencies  travel documents (Laissez-Passer), can enter or stay on the territory of Georgia without visa up to 90 days in any 180-days period;

Aliens holding a Georgian residence permit or a temporary residence permit of a refugee or a person with humanitarian status for the entire period of the above mentioned documents validity.

Following individuals do not require a visa for transit movement in Georgia:

Members of a crew of an international airline, railway, or marine transport and passengers that need an interim change of carrier or means of transport and have a document evidencing the right to enter their country of destination. Period of stay in Georgia does not exceed ten days.

Attention! Passengers are not allowed to leave an area designated specifically for transit at an airport, a railway station or a seaport.

Citizens and stateless persons permanently residing in the    countries listed below may enter Georgia without a visa for short-term visit  (Not exceeding 90 calendar days in any 180-day period).

Country List